A to Z

A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia from the National Library of Medicine

"The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations." Access is through Medline.gov.

Academic Search Complete

"ASC offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more."

ACP Journal Club (EBM Reviews)

"ACP Journal Club helps you stay current with the latest evidence-based clinical information relevant to internal medicine and its subspecialties. Reviewing over 120 leading medical journals, this monthly feature in Annals of Internal Medicine"contains an editorial, easy to read abstracts, and a page of other notable articles."

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

"AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish."

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

"The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) is the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. These collections provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912."

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 (1684-1820)

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 (1821-1837)

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 (1838-1852)

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 (1853-1865)

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 (1866-1912)

Biography in Context

"Biography In Context is built on a foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography In Context includes over 4,500 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. It offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the very latest information."

BioMed Central

"A STM (Science, Technology, and Medicine) publisher with a large portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals that span all areas of biology, medicine, and health."

Black Thought and Culture

 "Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders-teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures-covering 250 years of history."

Business Source Elite

"This resource provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. The collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more. "

CAMIO

"CAMIO-Catalog of Art Museum Images Online-is a premiere resource of works of art from around the world contributed and described by leading museums. Showcasing a wide range of fine and decorative art, CAMIO provides high-quality art images for education, research, and enjoyment. All content is rights-cleared for educational use."

ChemHealthWeb

"Describes basic chemistry and biochemistry research that spurs a better understanding of human health." From the National Institute of Health, National Institute of General Medical Sciences.

Chronicle of Higher Education

"The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators."

CINAHL Complete

"This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. "

Clinical Key for Nursing

"ClinicalKey brings nursing monographs, practice guidelines and core measures with nursing recommendations."

"ClinicalKey is the clinical search engine that thinks and works the way you do by adapting to your schedule, workflow preferences and information needs, making it easier for you to find and apply relevant knowledge quickly."

Click here for off-campus access directions.

 

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (EBM Reviews)

"The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials. The majority of CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly MEDLINE and Embase), but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources. In addition to bibliographic details (author, source, year, etc.) CENTRAL records will often include an abstract (a summary of the article). They do not contain the full text of the article."

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews)

"The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. The CDSR is updated regularly as Cochrane Reviews are published ‘when ready’ and form monthly issues."

Cochrane Methodology Register (EBM Reviews)

"The Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR) is a bibliography of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings, and the content is sourced from MEDLINE and hand searches. CMR contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies that could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and, in some cases, a summary of the article. They do not contain the full text of the article."

Consumer Health Complete

"The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine."

CREDO Information Literacy Modules

"The InfoLit Modules provide high quality, ACRL-aligned instructional materials to help librarians deepen the quality of student instruction on research strategies and techniques. With 60 high-quality videos, tutorials, and quizzes, the InfoLit Modules are ideal for supplementing existing lessons, for “one shot” library instructional sessions, and for addressing gaps in classroom or online teaching."

Credo Reference

"Reference is the foundation of research. Credo Online Reference Service enhances the research experience by combining authoritative reference content with a one-stop exploratory search platform that drives usage of all trusted library resources."

 

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (EBM Reviews)

"The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) contains details of systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of healthcare interventions and the delivery and organisation of health services. DARE also contains reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health."

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

"The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 10,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities."

Ebscohost Research Databases

Search the Methodist College collection of EBSCOhost databases.

eReads Illinois

E-books and E-audiobooks

Check out five books at a time. Keep the books for three weeks. After which, they will no longer open on your device. No fines!

Place up to five holds at a time, and put the rest of the books you want to read on a wish list for later. 

How to access directions.

ERIC

"ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index."

Films On Demand

Master Academic Collection, Nursing Video Collection and FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection

 

"At Films On Demand, we know that content matters. Our video library has been assembled not just with a focus on volume, but also with a discerning eye for quality and relevance. It is the result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study. Always on the cutting edge, Films On Demand's platform provides users with the content, tools, speed, and performance that today’s online experience demands."

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

"This encyclopedia indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. Full text for each record may be easily accessed by double clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually."

Harper's Weekly (HarpWeek)

"Harper's Weekly was the definitive newspaper of record for the latter part of the nineteenth century and early twentieth."

Health Source - Consumer Edition

"This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets. "

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

"This resource provides 600 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong."

Health Technology Assessment (EBM Reviews)

"Produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), the Health Technology Assessment database brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions).

HTA is produced in collaboration with the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden. The database contains records of ongoing projects being conducted by members of INAHTA as well as publications reporting completed technology assessments carried out by INAHTA members and other health technology assessment organizations.

The abstracts in the database are descriptive rather than analytical and do not provide critical appraisals of the reports, as the reports have not been evaluated by reviewers from the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination.

Many different types of research are included in the HTA database, including systematic reviews and ongoing and completed research based on trials, questionnaires, and economic evaluations. In some cases, there will be an overlap with systematic reviews in the "Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effect (DARE) database and economic evaluations in the National Health Service Economic Evaluation (NHS EED) database."

Journals@Ovid

"LWW Health Library provides a singular access point to clinical and educational content, as well as rich multimedia ancillaries for teaching, learning, and practice. In addition to health science schools and hospitals, these resources are a must-have for related educational, residency, and fellowship programs - ensuring you have the resources you need to effectively support curriculum for your students' and residents' foundational learning, and clinical practice needs."

Legal Eagle Eye Newsletter for the Nursing Profession

"Each month we cover the latest US court decisions and new Federal regulations that directly affect nurses."

For off-campus access, please go to the library's learning management site: https://methodistcollege.brightspace.com/d2l/home/7519?tourId=4

The most recent issue is available in the library's print periodicals collection.  

 

MasterFILE Premier

"Provides full text to magazines, reference books, and primary source documents. This database also provides an Image Collection containing photos, maps & flags."

MAS Ultra - School Edition

"Provides full text for more than 170,000 biographies and primary source documents, hundreds of reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia and the CIA World Fact Book), an image collection containing photos, maps, flags and color PDFs and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines."

Medline

"The world’s leading bibliographic source for biomedical scholarly literature and research—with easy linking to full-text journals." 

Military & Government Collection

"Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites."

MLA International Bibliography

"The MLA International Bibliography is an essential tool for research in all aspects of modern languages and literature. Available as a searchable online database of more than 2.7 million records and constantly updated by scholars in the field, the bibliography is used by academics and teachers around the world to find and share their work. Students at all levels rely on the bibliography to lead them to the journals, books, Web sites, and other publications they need to succeed in their research projects."

Newspaper Source

"This database provides selected full textcoverage for 245 newspapers (including the Peoria Journal Star), newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto StarThe Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more."

NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EBM Reviews)

"The NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED) contains economic evaluations of healthcare interventions. Economic evaluations are studies in which a comparison of two or more interventions or care alternatives is undertaken and in which both the costs and outcomes of the alternatives are examined. This includes cost-benefit analyses, cost-utility analyses, and cost-effectiveness analyses."

Nursing Reference Center Plus

"Unmatched in scope, nurses use Nursing Reference Center Plus to get answers to questions quickly, access care plans, watch video demonstrations, strengthen nursing skills, earn continuing education credits and much more."

Ebook access to: 

Diseases & Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual 

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses

AHFS Drug Information Essentials

Psych Notes: Clinical Pocket Guide

Assess Notes: Assessment and Diagnostic Reasoning

Concept Mapping: A Critical Thinking Approach to Care Planning

Nursing Care Plans: Guidelines for Individualizing Client Care Across the Life Span

Understanding Medical Surgical Nursing

Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests With Nursing Implications

Nursing Diagnosis Manual: Planning, Individualizing, and Documenting Client Care

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

"Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more."

Ovid- Custom Methodist College Page

Browse and search journals and ebooks. Access Journals@Ovid, Emcare, Medline and Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews.

PLOS ONE

"The world's first multidisciplinary Open Access journal, PLOS ONE accepts scientifically rigorous research, regardless of novelty. PLOS ONE's broad scope provides a platform to publish primary research, including interdisciplinary and replication studies as well as negative results. The journal's publication criteria are based on high ethical standards and the rigor of the methodology and conclusions reported."

Primary Search

"Primary Search provides students with encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. In addition, the database includes full-text popular magazines including those from Cricket Media, such as Ladybug and Spider. Other magazines include Highlights, Junior Scholastic and dozens more."

Professional Development Collection

"This database provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians, and education researchers. "

PsycINFO

"Centered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. This ever-expanding collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts offers a broad view of the field. With relevance to a host of related disciplines, including neuroscience, business, nursing, law, and education, PsycINFO delivers the peer-reviewed content and abstracts students and researchers need."

PubMed

PubMed is a National Center for Biotechnology Information; U.S. National Library of Medicine sponsored citation database of biomedical information (with some full-text). PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.PubMed is a National Center for Biotechnology Information; U.S. National Library of Medicine sponsored citation database of biomedical information (with some fulltext). PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed Health

"PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions. PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question "What works?" in medical and health care. PubMed Health is a service provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)."

Regional Business News

"This robust database provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Content is provided by leading publishers in business news including The Washington PostPR Newswire US and more with full-text content coverage spanning more than 20 years."

Sage Deep Backfile

"Access to content of over 500 titles prior to 1999."

Sage E-Reference Collection

"Sage e-Reference is a full-text collection of over 80 online specialized encyclopedias in the social sciences, including communications, gender studies, social work, history, psychology, etc."

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

"Sanborn maps were originally created to help fire insurance companies determine the risks associated with insuring properties. These large-scale maps were drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. Because the maps were created over a century, they are useful in charting the development of cities and towns over many years."

Saskia Collection

"Saskia Digital Image Archive from Scholars Resource is a collection containing 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture, and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Uffizi, and the Louvre as well as archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey, and Egypt. The images can be displayed and downloaded in high-resolution format. Additionally, the descriptive data about the images includes references to the occurrences of these images in 19 major art history texts, including Gardner's Art Through the Ages, 12th edition; Understanding Art, 7th edition; Art and Ideas, 10th edition; Discovering Art History, 4th edition." 

Science Direct (Selected Titles)

Access articles from the following titles:

Applied Nursing Research (2006-Present)
Archives of Psychiatric Nursing (2006-Present)
Clinical Simulation in Nursing (2006-Present)
Critical Care Nursing Clinics of North America (2002-2014)
Fertility and Sterility (2006-2011)
Geriatric Nursing (2006-Present)
International Journal of Nursing Studies (2006-2016)
Journal of Emergency Nursing (2006-2014)
Journal of Pediatric Nursing (2006-Present)
Journal of Professional Nursing (2006-Present)
Journal of Radiology Nursing (2006-2014)
Journal of the American College of Cardiology (2006-2014)
Nurse Education in Practice (2006-Present)
Nurse Education Today (2006-Present)
Nurse Leader (2006-Present)
Nursing Clinics of North America (2002-2016)
Nursing Outlook (2006-Present)
Public Health (2006-Present)
Teaching and Learning in Nursing (2006-Present)
The American Journal of Cardiology (2006-2014)
 

You can also search for all eJournal titles with Publication Finder here.

Social Work Reference Center

"Social Work Reference Center is a turnkey information resource for social workers and mental health professionals. It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity. Content is organized in a way that makes it easy for users to get answers to questions quickly and easily."

Springer Medicine eBooks (2005-2010)

"SpringerLink is a large collection of e-books covering topics in technology, sciences and medicine. The Library provides access to all titles published between 2005-2010."

Structures of Life

"The Structures of Life reveals how structural biology provides insight into health and disease and is useful in developing new medications." From the National Institute of Health, National Institute of General Medical Sciences.

Testing & Education Resource Center with Careers Module

Testing & Education Reference Center provides users with in-depth information on colleges and universities, graduate and professional programs, distance learning, corporate training, available scholarships and awards, preparatory entrance tests and much more. Available online practice tests include entrance exams, certification, and licensing tests.

U.S. National Library of Medicine Digital Collections

"Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and,unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich resources."

Women and Social Movements

 "Women and Social Movements in the United States is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women's history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. "